• Digital


  • Cat No: KR062
  • Release: 2019-05-24


digital 1100 JPY

Track List

24bit/44.1khz [wav/flac/aiff/alac/mp3]

FRANK BRETSCHNEIDER, BÉRANGÈRE MAXIMIN, JASMINE GUFFOND, PHONOSPHERE and KAMMERFLIMMER KOLLEKTIEF celebrate ERNSTALBRECHT STIEBLER's 85th birthday with exclusive reworks of compositions by the German miminalist composer.
ERNSTALBRECHT STIEBLER (born march 29th1934)is one of the first German composers involved with minimalism and ranks among the pioneers of reductive, repetitive, sound-oriented music. Although honored with several prizes (e.g. the"Bach-Preis der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg"), up to the current day only true connoisseurs of contemporary music are familiar with his oeuvre. On the occasion of his 85thanniversary this year, KARLRECORDS launches a series of albums with original pieces by STIEBLER who besides his compositional workserved as director for new music at Hessischer Rundfunk for over 25 years (where he supervised recordings of MORTON FELDMAN, JOHN CAGE, ALVIN LUCIER, GIACINTO SCELSI a.o.) and publishednumerous essays inMusik-Konzepte,MusikTexteand other music journals. The new STIEBLER series, however, kicks off with "Reworks" – five artists from different musical backgrounds present their approach to and understanding of STIEBLER's minimalist aesthetics for which he cites"sonority, rhythm, and duration" as his three principal compositional concerns.

Tracklist & credits:
a re-interpretation of "Mitteltöne" by Ernstalbrecht Stiebler
recorded 22. and 30.10.2018 in Berlin
A2 BÉRANGÈRE MAXIMIN : Innocence (for and after Ernstalbrecht Stiebler)
rework composed and mixed by B.M. at Home Sweet Home Studio, Paris, 2019.

B1 JASMINE GUFFOND : Remix Algorithm
recorded and produced by Jasmine Guffond and her MaxMSP patch, 2018

B2 PHONOSPHERE : Mit der Zeit im Atem schwebend
mixed by Werner Durand & Jens Strüver at Haveli Studio, Berlin, fall 2018


Ernstalbrecht Stiebler, Sehr Langsam (2005 - 2006), Bozzini Quartet
expanded and edited by Thomas Weber
Studio Kinda Cloudy, Karlsruhe, december 2018
synthesizer: Heike Aumüller
drums: Christopher Brunnerdouble
bass: Johannes Frisch

mastered & cut by Rashad Becker at D&M, Berlin

Back to List


fold the sound player