• 12inch
  • Recommended
  • Back In

Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol. 1

  • Cat No: MNR002
  • 2022-08-04


12inch ---- JPY

SOUL HAS NO TEMPOからのシングル、QUANTICへのリミックスも素晴らしく、ジャイルスのBROWNSWOODのコンピにもフックされた女性シンガーTIANA KHASIのサウンドを手がけたりと数は少ないけれどの仕事も好内容のSAMPOLOGYが中心となったMIDDLE NAME DANCE BAND。

未入荷だった2018年のシングル「Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol. 1」もストックできました!ダビー、シンセサイザーワークの魅力。そしてリズムがじっくりユニーク。アフリカンビート・サイエンス。 (サイトウ)

Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol 1 is the second release from Sampology’s new imprint. The Middle Name Dance Tracks project reflects standout live & club nights in Brisbane of recent years, where there has seen a steady cross pollination between the club and soul/jazz communities. The blurred line between these two musical worlds has delivered an array of diverse and joyful events for both artists and avid music fans.

Harvey Sutherland
"Great live vibes and arrangements on these collaborations Sam, always appreciate the attention to detail on your tracks. “Bless” is a jam! ”

'Fantastic release, sampology continues to wow me with his depth and talent . It’s a yes from me for these Brisbane collabs!!!'

This project is a collaborative creative effort between Sampology, Megan Christensen and Sam Stosuur. The recording process was live in nature with Megan on piano and keys, Sam Stosuur on bass/bass synth and Sampology on MPC drums and programming. Having live conga & timbale from Brisbane based Latin percussion staple Gus Cereiji glues the groove together. These sonic choices were inspired by listening to NYC early 80s disco labels, especially Prelude 12" releases, which balanced drum machine & synths as well as live studio musicians. Vocals on 'Only Joy' were recorded by Kerry Raywood. Vocals for 'Bless' come from Brisbane jazz vocalist Merinda Dias-Jayasinha. The combination of the Middle Name Dance Tracks trio and the additional Brisbane artists offers a specific music palette that’s live in essence, dancefloor in orientation, and magical in delivery.

Middle Name Records Dance Tracks Vol 1. artwork was created by artist Sue Poggioli, Sampology’s mother who also created the artwork for the 2016 Natural Selections EP.

Back to List


fold the sound player