• 12inch


  • Cat No: GBR039
  • 2023-01-23


12inch2450 JPY

自主レーベル〈LASH00〉、〈GOING GOOD〉や〈[Emotional] Especial〉からのリリースで知られる、BASS、インダストリアルなダンスのニューフォーム、ロンドンのデュオWEIRD WEATHERのひとり、DUNCAN THORNLEYのソロプロジェクトDOUBLE GEOGRAPHYが〈GROWING BIN RECORDS〉から4曲入りのEPをリリース。

昨年〈INVISIBLE, INC.〉からリリースしたデビューアルバムはすでに海外でも高値をつけているDOUBLE GEOGRAPHYのニューリリース。アブストラクトかつ、色彩の濃いサウンド・テクスチャーの環境音楽、空想的なアンビエント、サウンド・トリップ。BGMとしてでなく、音自身、強度をももち、空間、人を震わせることができる。45回転で刻み込まれたアナログ・サウンド。素晴らしい!再評価された日本の環境音楽やVISIBLE CLOAKSあたりのファンも是非。 (サイトウ)

Let’s face it, no one really knows where they’re going, so the best we can do is enjoy the ride - a sentiment captured perfectly by the high altitude ambient of ‘Flights’, Double Geography’s new release on the Growing Bin. Embracing the unpredictable, Duncan Thornley married melodic fragments with semi-generative computer process and random filter interactions, an aleatory approach to music therapy during the existential funk of the first Lockdown. The unhurried melodies, weightless within plumes of reverb and delay, conjure the feeling of long distance air travel with All Nippon - that pensive delirium stimulated by varying air pressure, broken sleep and the most welcome pause in your everyday life. Remote snippets of news reports, street noise and conversation, plundered from cassette dictaphone and a Spanish language tape the artist found in the loft sit low in the mix, the barely audible sound of the pilot and passenger, extras in your everyday experience. Contemplative and comforting, ‘Flights’ is a gentle reminder to be present, delivered with a rare beauty.

Back to List


fold the sound player