• CD
  • 10inch
  • Digital


  • Cat No: EM1193CD
  • Release: 2020-09-18
  • 2020-09-21


CD 2200 JPY

初期JOY DIVISION直系、ビートボックス+ドライなギター、そしてアクの強い独特の歌の世界。疾走するミニマルウエイヴ。日本語での「Love Will Tear Us apart」の鮮烈なカバー。千紗子と純太によるリワーク、未発表も加えてEM RECORDSからアナログ再発。

1983年に日本のアバンジャズ、インプロ阿部薫や高柳昌行、土取利行、そしてPHEWや大野松雄、高橋悠治、小杉武久等らも録音、リリースした小島幸雄氏のコジマ録音/KOJIMA RecordingsのサブレーベルALM RECORDSから、初期JOY DIVISION直系のビートボックス+ドライなギターで疾走するミニマルウエイヴ岩本清顕ソロ名義でのリリース。日本語での「Love Will Tear Us Apart」の鮮烈なカバーを含む当時のリリースに含まれていた音源五曲に千紗子と純太によるリワーク、そして"美れい"名義での壮絶な音源の加えてEM RECORDSから再発。 (サイトウ)

December 1982, Tokyo. Kiyoaki Iwamoto has a guitar, a simple rhythm box, a friend with a bass guitar, and some stripped-down songs, brazen in their post-punk simplicity, irritation and controlled aggression, yet full of sadness and resignation. Five songs, including a rearranged version of “Love Will Tear Us Apart” are recorded and released on a now extremely rare 7” record. This release, available on 10” vinyl, CD, or digital download, features those five songs, along with a previously unreleased 1980 live performance by his duo Birei, as well as a 2020 reworking of “Love…”, by the Japanese duo Chisako and Junta. Iwamoto was an enigma, active in the post-punk scene in Japan in the late 70s and early 80s, a member of Birei and founding member of Guys & Dolls with Tori Kudo (Maher Shalal Hash Baz); in the mid-80s he cut contact with his friends, disavowing his name and later performing under a different moniker.

+ Standard jewel case
+ 12-page booklet, obi
+ English liner notes


=SOUGI" (1983)=
01. Period
02. Even If You Can See Hell
03. In the Sad Town
04. Don’t Go Too Far Away
05. Love Will Tear Us Apart

06. Love Will Tear Us Apart (Chisako and Junta Rework)
07. Untitles (Performed by Birei at Shinjuku Koft in April 22, 1980)

Back to List


fold the sound player